Swatches: Quo by Orly in Celestial Stars

celestialstars_6 copy

Hi all! Today I’ll be reviewing a polish from Quo by Orly  called Celestial Stars. Quo is Shoppers Drug Mart’s in-house beauty brand. Most Quo products are pretty good, and I figured if Orly it making their nail polishes, they must be good too! This is a sparkly ultramarine blue that shifts to royal purple in the light. I suspect that it’s just a reformulated version of one of my favourite discontinued polishes – Orly Cosmic FX in Lunar Eclipse. I know the purple-blue duochrome is completely played out by now, but I can’t help myself. It’s my favourite colour combination~ so, let’s get started!

Packaging: 4/5

The polish comes in rounded 14 mL bottles, along with 2 mixing balls. The brush is very nice – narrow, with no loose fibres. The rubberized lid is helpfully stamped with a white ‘Q’ so it’s easy for me to find in my nail polish box! The problem is that the rubberized coating on the lid attracts loads of dust and lint – might not be a good idea to keep this around your makeup as it’ll certainly get dirty. I’ve only had the polish for a short time and you can already see how dusty they are. My other gripe is that the label is black, so it’s hard to read unless you’re looking in direct sunlight.

Formula: 4/5

celestialstars_2 copy

celestialstars_5 copy  celestialstars_4 copy

celestialstars_3 copy

The polish is big-3 free, but it’s got a very strong smell. It applied very smoothly without bubbling, and the consistency was perfect. It took 2 coats to achieve the bottle colour, which surprised me since the first coat was a bit sheer. In the photos I have 3 coats on. The polish dried very quickly, and it had a smooth, glossy finish. Not super shiny, but that was easily fixed with a coat of Seche Vite. I used a crappy top coat initially, but it really didn’t do anything for the colour or shine. You need a good quality top coat to really bring out the colour of this polish – otherwise it may look a little dull. The duochrome effect is a lot more subtle than in the bottle, but it’s still very pretty.

I was disappointed with the amount of tip wear, though. I painted my nails on Friday night, but it was too dim outside to swatch until Sunday morning. In the photo you can see that the tips are already completely worn. I’ve never had a polish wear so quickly on me, even though I do a lot of typing and work with my hands. I expected better wear from such an expensive polish.

Value: 3.5/5

I picked Celestial Stars up at Shoppers for $10 CAD – I’ve never seen the Quo by Orly line go on sale, so that didn’t factor into my evaluation at all. This is a really nice polish, and it’s a great dupe of some discontinued/expensive duochrome polishes. For comparison, OPI DS Magic costs $15 on sale, and the Orly Cosmic FX costs $10 now that it’s been discontinued. At the same time, if I’m paying $10 for a nail polish then I want to go more than 2 days without getting obvious tip wear.

celestialstars_1 copy

Obvious tip wear after only 2 days.

Overall Impression: 4/5

  • Pros: 3-free, applies well, dries quickly
  • Cons: Chips easily, expensive

Where To Buy:

Shoppers Drug Mart (Canada)

Dupes & Similar Shades:

Orly Cosmix FX – Lunar Eclipse (discontinued)

OPI Designer Series – Magic (discontinued)

Sally Hansen HD – Laser (discontinued)

Pure Ice – Deja Vu

Butter London – Scouse

Leave a Reply

