Day 1 of OPI Nail Envy Treatment!

Hello everyone! So, if you haven’t noticed, I haven’t posted at all in…a whole month! Half of that is because I’m lazy/busy haha~ when I get home from work, I usually have a bunch of orders to fill…add in the everyday tasks and I’m too tired/grumpy to blog. But there’s another reason~ it’s also because I’m trying to give my poor nails a break. Since I’ve worn nail polish every single day for 6 years or so, my nails have gotten in bad shape. Even though I use cuticle oil and lotion every day, my nails and cuticles became bone dry and flaky. I tried to cover up the damage with silk wraps, and tried a billion crappy drugstore products, but they didn’t really get any better. I decided to bite the bullet and go polish-free for a few weeks so that my nails could recover.

sadnails_1 copy

sadnails_2 copy

This is a photo of my nails after I removed the polish. Even though they don’t look too bad in the picture, they’re in pretty terrible shape. Horizontal cracks, flaking/peeling tips, and stained orange/yellow! While filing away the worst of the damage, my left index fingernail snapped right in half and pulled a big flake with it. In the past week or two, every single nail on my right hand snapped off, so I didn’t even bother taking a photo of it. ´⌒`

Time to bring out the big guns! I bought a bottle of OPI Nail Envy for $15 CAD (ouch), which is considered one of the best nail hardeners. It’s got formaldehyde in it and the smell is awful, but it dissipates quickly. In layman’s terms, formaldehyde helps to “cross-link” the protein in your nails, strengthening them. Paradoxically, if you use too much formaldehyde nail hardener (and keep increasing the number/strength of protein cross- links) your nails will lose too much flexibility and will crack under pressure, rather than bending. See, studying biochemistry was useful! (´ ▽ ` )ノ

As per the bottle directions, I’m going to start with 2 coats, adding another coat every other day. I will report back in a week with my results!

❤ Chelsea

5 comments on “Day 1 of OPI Nail Envy Treatment!

  1. Kairi says:

    I hope your nails will be better soon. I’m using petroleum jelly for my cuticles, usually before I go to bed since it’s greasy.
    I was thinking where have you disappeared to 😛

    • I usually just use jojoba oil since it rubs in so quickly…when I used to use vaseline at night, I’d wake up with it all over my face and pillow lol!

      • Kairi says:

        I massage it in as much as I can :P, also I found this nail strengthener that can be used as base coat under the mani. And ofc some polish free time every now and then is mandatory.
        Anyways I hope yours will get nice and healthy again soon 🙂

  2. […] all! If you read my previous post, you’ll know I’m currently trying to  heal and grow my natural nails. So I’ll be […]

  3. So good you’re giving your nails some lovin’ ; )

Leave a Reply

