Swatches: Missha The Style Gemstone Nails in Citrine, Aquamarine, and Amethyst

Hello everyone~ today I’m going to be reviewing 3 Missha nail polishes. I’ve never bought Missha nail polish so I was excited to see the Gemstone Nails collection on sale! I picked up Citrine (orange), Aquamarine (blue), and Amethyst (purple). Let’s get started! ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

Packaging: 10/10

misshagem_1 copy

Missha’s packaging is feminine and pretty without being overly girly. The polish comes in curved 8 mL heart-shaped bottles with the Missha logo on the front. They don’t stack together or anything so storage isn’t as easy, but they look lovely lined up on a shelf. The caps are short and sturdy, and they’re made of a pretty iridescent black plastic that shimmers red/blue in the light. They have standard long, thin brushes. Lastly, they come with mixing balls – good job Missha!

Formula: 4/10

misshagem_4 copymisshagem_2 copy misshagem_3 copymisshagem_6 copy

When I leaned in with my camera for a closer look, I was disappointed to see curled glitter in all 3 polishes! At first I thought it was the curve of the bottle distorting my vision, but the glitter is actually slightly curled. Nooo! ´⌒` The curling is the worst in Aquamarine – every glitter has curled. In Citrine, for some reason the giant gold hex hasn’t curled but all the smaller glitter did. And in Amethyst, all the hex glitter has curled but the star glitter is ok. The batch is from 26 February 2013 according to the sticker. Since it’s been sitting for a few months already, it probably won’t curl much more (I hope).

Anyway, as for the rest of the formula, it’s simply “ok.” Like most glitter polishes, it’s thick and a bit sticky. It didn’t apply very smoothly/evenly and left some streaks. On the bright side, the glitter goes on thickly! I got a nice amount of glitter with every coat. There’s also a pleasant surprise – the polish is scented! There’s a subtle rosy floral fragrance that fades as it dries. I noticed when I was painting that it wasn’t as stinky as other polishes, and the rose scent isn’t overpowering or fake-smelling. The box also says it contains Vitamin C and botanical extracts from pumpkin, hibiscus, and strawberry in addition to powder from crushed pearl, tourmaline, coral, and sapphire for shine. That’s nice and all, but I just wish I could find out if it’s 3-free or not!

Value: 6/10

I bought this from Ebay so I know I paid a bit more than it’s worth ($5 CAD), but you can buy it directly from Missha USA for $3. At least it’s cheap, since I would be pitching a fit right now if I’d spent more than that. I don’t think $3 is a lot for a small bottle of polish considering the curling isn’t too bad and the colours are pretty – although that’s basically $6 for a full size bottle and I’d rather buy China Glaze if I’m gong to spend that much.  You can also find it at KoreaDepart  for $2.34 USD. I picked it up from f2plus1 on Ebay for $4.90 USD.

Overall Impression: 5/10

  • Pros: Gorgeous packaging, very glittery, pleasant scent, fair price
  • Cons: Curling glitter, streaky application, a little too thick, no indication that it’s big-3 free

Thank you so much for reading!

❤ Chelsea

4 comments on “Swatches: Missha The Style Gemstone Nails in Citrine, Aquamarine, and Amethyst

  1. Oh man! Curling glitter D: the looks of the polishes were also really interesting! I haven’t been drawn to any Misshas’…the polishes they have here were more of basic cremes. Glitters always steal my heart ^^

  2. Kitsu says:

    Oh no, curling glitter. And the colors are all so pretty too 😦

Leave a Reply

