31 Day Challenge: Day 22 (Inspired by a Song)

Today’s challenge is Inspired by a Song. Ok, so maybe this is more inspired by the music video instead of the song, but still!

31day_song1 copy 31day_song3 copy 31day_song2 copy

Nail Polishes and Materials Used:

  • Gold – Sally Hansen Golden-i
  • Gold Glitter – Etude House Golden Bell
  • Black – Sation Black
  • Topcoat – Essence Absolute Pure
  • Gold striping tape
  • Gold 2mm/5mm square studs

Ok, so Janelle Monae’s new song is my jam. And she kills it in the end with that rap! Her and Erykah Badu collaborating is a match made in heaven.

Anyway…onto the nails. I cut some round white acrylic nails into stilettos, then painted black and gold stripes and chevrons using scotch tape. Then I added the gold striping tape to add some extra flair (and to hide the wobbly edges, haha). The gradient nail was just made by sponging Golden Bell on the tip. Next, I gave each nail a good coat of topcoat and pressed the studs in. I looove how these turned out! Too bad I have nowhere to really wear these…

Thanks for reading!

❤ Chelsea

7 comments on “31 Day Challenge: Day 22 (Inspired by a Song)

  1. blimbo2005 says:

    omg these nails are awesome. I have yet to try the stiletto trend. if you don’t mind me asking how did you cut and shape the acrylic nails?

    • Sorry it took me so long to reply – been super busy!

      I use nails with a round tip. Then to save time, I use a nail clipper to clip a straight line from the tip to the side of the nail, making a sharp point. Then I smooth the tip and sides using a nail file. It’s much faster than filing the whole tip by hand.

  2. thenailboss says:

    Hi Chelsea, these are really well done, love ’em! I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award and if you’d like to accept it you can check out the details in my award post :)http://thenailboss.com/2013/05/07/one-lovely-blogger-award/

  3. Seems like you have created my dream nails – so gorgeous ! ♥ ㅠㅠ

Leave a Reply

