Swatches: KIT Nail Lacquer in First Kiss, Spring Awakening, and Playas De Arena

kit_1

Hello everyone! I’m going to be bringing you a new format for my polish reviews, since I think my previous reviews were a little bit long and rambling. I’ll be instead assigning points for packaging, formula, value, and overall impression.

Today, I’m going to be reviewing 3 polishes by KIT Nail Lacquer: First Kiss, Spring Awakening, and Playas de Arena. First Kiss is a cool-toned hot pink creme. Spring Awakening is a cool-toned mauve creme. Playas de Arena is a warm-toned peachy pastel pink creme.

KIT is an in-house brand owned by Rexall Pharmacy/PharmaPlus, a Canadian drugstore chain. You may not be able to get them outside of Canada unless you buy them online. They have over 40 colours, though the majority of them seem to be your typical cremes. They have some pretty shades in every colour of the rainbow.

Packaging: 6.5/10

kit_2 copy

From left to right: First Kiss, Spring Awakening, and Playas de Arena

The polishes come in adorable, square 15 mL bottles with simple labels. Each one contains 2 mixing balls. The brush is easy to hold, but the lid feels very flimsy and cheap. I actually cracked the plastic of one lid by squeezing it too hard (and I’m not very strong). And being square, the lids don’t always close flush with the bottle which is incredibly annoying. However, they are quite attractive and the square shape allows for easy storage.

Formula: 7/10

kit_3 copy

3 coats each of First Kiss, Spring Awakening, and Playas de Arena.

As you can see, the swatches are all a few shades darker than the bottle colour, especially First Kiss, but it’s not a huge deal. You can also see my sexy, pajama-clad reflection, haha. Oops!

Firstly, Kit polishes are big-3 free! That always scores points with me. They do contain stinky camphor though, so if Zoya polishes bother you then so will these. Applying all 3 polishes was very easy. First Kiss and Spring Awakening had smooth, thick formulas and looked pretty good in one coat. Spring Awakening was a little bit less opaque, however. Playas de Arena was thinner and disappointingly sheer, but I’ve come to expect it from pastel pinks. They didn’t bubble or streak at all.

I was absolutely not impressed by the drying time. A single coat of Playas de Arena dried fairly quickly, but Spring Awakening and First Kiss dried very slowly. On the bright side, they’re not chipping!

Value: 6/10

I was lucky enough to find these on sale at 3 for $13.99. However, at full price they’re $6.99 each – the same as China Glaze at the beauty supply store. For $6.99, I would expect better packaging, and quicker drying time. However, for the price I paid, I think I got a pretty good deal.

Overall Impression: 7/10

  • Pros: Big-3 free, opaque, smooth application
  • Cons:  Camphor smell, poor drying time, cheap packaging

Thanks for reading and I hope my post was helpful! Please let me know if you like my new review format.

  CC

3 comments on “Swatches: KIT Nail Lacquer in First Kiss, Spring Awakening, and Playas De Arena

  1. Megan says:

    Great review, the format is really easy to read. The colours are adorable!

  2. fivezero says:

    I never go to PharmaPlus! I gotta get down there asap 🙂 Nice pics and review!

Leave a Reply

